Home / News / India Tour of Sri Lanka 2015: BCCI to Announce Squad on Thursday

India Tour of Sri Lanka 2015: BCCI to Announce Squad on Thursday

India Tour of Sri Lanka 2015: BCCI to Announce Squad on Thursday. The selectors of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will meet on Thursday to announce the squad for the tour of India in Sri Lanka, which is expected to starting from August 12. India will play a series of tests of three matches against Sri Lanka. Virat Kohli is set to resume his captaincy and most senior players who were rested for Zimbabwe tour is likely to be back in the test equipment.

The selectors are likely to announce a squad of 15 or 16 members for the upcoming tour of Sri Lanka. A five-member committee headed by former cricketer Sandeep India Patil to discuss the possibility of a third specialist spinner.

Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan are automatic choices for the opening slot followed by Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane. Selectors are likely to face a dilemma on position No. 3. It depends on how Cheteshwar Pujara and KL Rahul made against Australia A in the official course of four days in the Test series Chennai. But these two batsmen are likely to be chosen for the tour.

Wriddhiman Saha is also an automatic selection for this tour as a keeper batsman MS Dhoni ground after hanging up his boots in the longer format of the game. but it could be a possibility that Sanju Samson Naman Ojha or can be picked as the member 16 in the squad for the tour of Sri Lanka. ibtimes

Ravichandran Ashwin and Harbhajan Singh is likely to lead the spin attack for India. The two spinners were impressive in the test one last time against Bangladesh months. Patel and Amit Mishra Axar could be tied in as the third option of turning. Mishra came to beacuse photo Karn Sharma, who suffered an injury and was ruled out of the tour of Zimbabwe.

Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ishant Sharma is likely to ensure that the pace attack. If Varun Aaron recovers from his illness, you can also add to the rhythm option.

India’s Probable Squad for Sri Lanka Tour: Virat Kohli (C), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Axar Patel/Amit Mishra, Varun Aaron, Sanju Samson/Naman Ojha.